Experimental Informatics

Logo
Logo Text

Experimental Informatics

ground zero: Website of the Experimental Informatics

The starting point is the conviction that humanity, while increasingly dependent on technology and its smooth functioning, is at the same time "spiritually not in control" of it. A different understanding, new experimental-aesthetic approaches and, last but not least, new language games are necessary to dissolve the insufficient dualism of euphoria over technology and pessimism over culture that still dominates the discourse.


The focus of teaching and project work is on experimentation, aesthetic reception and production, and their reflection. But the own "making" is the starting point for everything! By freeing (digital) technologies from their usual purpose orientation in the prevailing alliance of economy-technology-science and focusing on the experimental exploration and aesthetics of technical possibility spaces, the fundamental importance of technology and design for the formability of our own (technical) future becomes visible in the first place. We learn that the horizon of our world, in which we orient ourselves, move and act, is always already significantly determined by our poietic capacity (fiction, design, imagination, making) and that we cannot delegate the responsibility for it.


Between poetry and poiesis: Another focus is the examination of language and text. What does language mean at a time when most of the texts that surround us are read and written by computers? What literary potential do algorithms—which are themselves signs and texts—offer, and how can we use them artistically, for example, to reveal the structures of natural languages and enable new experiences of language? What language, concepts, and literary forms are suitable for promoting other thinking, other narratives, and other poietic practices (i.e., other practices of making, technology, production, architecture, design, etc.) so that other futures become imaginable?

Lehrende

Selected projects

Please wait

Experimentelle Informatik

Logo
Logo Text

Experimentelle Informatik

ground zero: Webseite der Experimentellen Informatik

Ausgangspunkt ist die Überzeugung, dass die Menschheit sich zwar zunehmend von Technik und deren reibungslosem Funktionieren abhängig macht, diese aber gleichzeitig „geistig nicht in der Hand hält“. Ein anderes Verständnis, neue experimentell-ästhetische Zugänge und nicht zuletzt neue Sprachspiele sind notwendig, um den unzureichenden, den Diskurs aber immer noch dominierenden Dualismus von Technikeuphorie und Technikfeindlichkeit aufzulösen.


Im Zentrum der Lehre und der Projektarbeit stehen das Experiment, die ästhetische Rezeption und Produktion sowie deren Reflexion. Das eigene „Machen“ ist aber der Ausgangspunkt für alles! Indem wir die (digitalen) Technologien von ihrer gewohnten Zweckorientierung im herrschenden Verbund von Wirtschaft-Technik-Wissenschaft befreien und die experimentelle Auslotung und Ästhetik technischer Möglichkeitsräume in den Mittelpunkt stellen, wird die grundlegende Bedeutung von Technik und Entwurf für die Gestaltbarkeit unserer eigenen (technischen) Zukunft überhaupt erst sichtbar. Wir erfahren, dass der Horizont unserer Welt, in der wir uns orientieren, bewegen und handeln, immer schon maßgeblich durch unser poietisches Vermögen (Fiktion, Entwurf, Imagination, Machen) bestimmt ist und wir die Verantwortung dafür nicht delegieren können.


Zwischen Poesie und Poiesis: Einen weiteren Schwerpunkt bildet die Auseinandersetzung mit Sprache und Text. Was bedeutet Sprache in einer Zeit, in der die meisten Texte, die uns umgeben, von Computern gelesen und geschrieben werden? Welches literarische Potential bieten Algorithmen – die selbst Zeichen und Texte sind – und wie können wir sie künstlerisch nutzen, um beispielsweise die Strukturen natürlicher Sprachen offen zu legen und neue Spracherfahrungen zu ermöglichen? Welche Sprache, Begriffe und literarischen Formen sind geeignet, um ein anderes Denken, andere Narrative und andere poietische Praxen (also andere Praxen des Machens, der Technik, der Produktion, der Architektur, des Designs etc.) zu befördern, damit andere Zukünfte vorstellbar werden?

Lehrende

Auswahl Projekte

Bitte warten