Feature Film / Directing

lars_DSCF0845 - Arbeitskopie 2.jpg

“Directing is the art of making coincidence possible.” (Roberto Ciulli)

The director (French: Réalisateur) is still considered one of the most important functions within a working collective (team) for creating individual and distinctive visual art/works in film or theatre.


To direct means to lead and guide a complex body of different specialised vocational groups, such as cinematographers, scriptwriters, lighting and sound engineers, architectural outfitters, costume designers and make-up artists. This implies having acquired (at least) basic knowledge in many of these disciplines.


But directing is especially about developing a creative energy for one’s own vision.


The goal of study at the KHM is therefore to educate auteurs and consolidate the place of artistic film, in association with a well-founded knowledge of analytical theory and film history.

In the 1960s, André Bazin began to establish and define clear concepts between technological advances and content with his cinematic language (later film semiotics), which provides the foundations of film analysis and criticism to this day. Important cornerstones of this are:

- Mise en scène (creative image composition + spatial construction within and beyond the frame, so-called framing (on/off-frame)

- Directing (according to Bazin) refers equally to the movement in front of the camera as well as the movement of the camera itself, as what defines content and aesthetic form, such as e.g. planned sequence, deep focus etc.

- Montage, which establishes and evokes as it were the narrative time (diegetic time span) and the narrated time (real duration of the film), the rhythm and the form (e.g. elliptic or narrative montage).


Moreover, work with and by actors has been increasingly thematised and made tangible in workshops over recent years. There are successful theories + methods developed for this, manifested and tested on Konstantin S. Stanislavski, Lee Strasberg, Susan Batson, Jerzy Grotowski and many more. Working with and leading actors and a knowledge of acting tools is an essential prerequisite for film/theatre direction, including experimental forms.


All of the theme blocks described above are dealt with in the course in practical (introductory) specialist seminars and exercises, and discussed and taught in theoretical (foundational) seminars.


An important part of the teaching is a practical 3-semester foundational seminar (Filmübung1) in the undergraduate course, in which all stages of an individual film-making process, from the idea to the finished film, are run through and worked out.


The bigger 2-semester (Filmübung2) seminar follows as part of the main course, focusing on different topics (on-location, studio design, work with actors etc.) from the perspective of directing / camera.


Alongside this, various other practical exercises such as the production of a social issue ad (artistic commercial), interaction with or developing a script with actors (free acting) and an introduction to live directing with several cameras are offered on the main course.

Lehrende Spielfilm

Studentische Arbeiten Spielfilm

Fächergruppe Film

Assistenz


Claudia Löwen

Peter-Welter-Platz 2, EG

50676 Köln

Tel.: +49 (0)221 - 20189 - 136

Fax: +49 (0)221 - 20189 - 49136

Mail: loewen@khm.de

We use cookies in order to improve your surfing experience.
If you stay on the website, you accept the privacy policy Datenschutzbestimmungen and allow us to use cookies.
Please wait

Spielfilm / Regie

lars_DSCF0845 - Arbeitskopie 2.jpg

„Regie führen ist die Kunst, den Zufall zu ermöglichen.“ (Roberto Ciulli)


Regie führen (frz.: Réalisateur), gilt  noch immer  als eine  der wichtigsten Funktionen innerhalb eines Arbeitskollektives (Team), um ein individuell geprägtes, visuelles Kunst/Werk im Film oder im Theater herzustellen.


Regie führen bedeutet, ein komplexes Gebilde unterschiedlicher fachspezialisierter Berufsgruppen, wie Kamera, Drehbuch, Licht, Ton,  Architektur-Ausstattung, Kostüm-Design, Maskenbild u.a.m. zu führen und anzuleiten. Das impliziert in vielen dieser Gewerke (zu mindestens) Grundkenntnisse erarbeitet zu haben.


Regie führen heißt aber vor allem, eine schöpferische Kraft für das Eigene zu entwickeln.


Das Studium an der KHM hat deshalb das Ziel  Autor*innen (frz. Auteur) auszubilden und den Kunstfilm (künstlerischen Film) zu etablieren, verbunden mit einem fundierten Wissen in der analytischen Theorie und der Filmgeschichte.


Mit André Bazin hat die Filmsprache (die spätere Filmsemiotik) in den 60er Jahren begonnen, klare Begrifflichkeiten zwischen technischem Fortschritt und Content herzuleiten und zu definieren, welche bis heute die Grundlagen der Filmanalyse und der Filmkritik bestimmen. Wichtige Eckpfeiler dafür sind: 

- die Mise-en-Scène ( kreative Bildkomposition + Raumkonstruktion innerhalb und außerhalb des Bildrahmens, der sg. Kadrage (das On/Off-Frame)

- Regie (nach Bazin)  bezieht sich gleichsam auf die Bewegung vor  der Kamera und der Bewegung der Kamera selbst, als inhaltliche und ästhetische Formbestimmung, wie z.B. die Plansequenz, die Schärfentiefe etc. 

- Montage, die u. a. die zeitliche Bestimmung der erzählten Zeit (diegetische Zeitspanne) und der Erzählzeit (reale Filmdauer), den Rhythmus und der Form (z. B. eliptische oder narrativen Montage) herleitet und gleichsam evoziert.  


Zudem wurde in den letzten Jahren verstärkt die Arbeit mit / von Schauspielern thematisiert und in Workshops erfahrbar gemacht.  Hierfür gibt es erfolgreich erarbeitete Theorien + Methodiken, die über Konstantin S. Stanislawki,  Lee Strasberg, Susan Batson, Jerzy Grotowski u. v. a. manifestiert und erprobt sind. Die Schauspielarbeit und –führung und das Wissen über Tools  oder Handwerkzeug von Schauspieler*innen ist eine unabdingbare Grundvoraussetzung der – auch experimentiellen -  Spielfilm/ Theater-Regie.


All diese oben beschriebenen Themenblöcke werden im Studium durch praktische  (Einführungs) Fachseminare und Übungen  behandelt, sowie in theoretischen  (Grundlagen) Seminaren diskutiert und vermittelt.


Wichtiger Bestandteil der Lehre ist im Grundstudium ein praktisches 3-semestriges Grundlagenseminar (Filmübung1),  in der von der Idee bis zum fertigen Film alle Stadien eines individuellen Filmprozesses durchlaufen und erarbeitet werden.


Im Hauptstudium selbst dann eine große 2-Semestrige Filmübung2 mit unterschiedlichen inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten (On-Location,  Studiobau, Schauspielarbeit etc.) unter dem Fokus Regie / Kamera.


Daneben werden im Hauptstudium verschiedene  andere praktische Übungen angeboten wie das Herstellen eines Socialspot (künstlerischer Werbefilm), Umgang oder Erarbeitung eines Drehbuches mit Schauspielern (Freies Spiel), Einführung in die Live-Regie mit mehreren Kameras  u.a.m.

Lehrende Spielfilm

Studentische Arbeiten Spielfilm

Zur Verbesserung der Benutzerfreundlichkeit verwenden wir Cookies.
Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu und erlauben uns die Verwendung von Cookies.
Bitte warten