Media and Fine Art

Logo
Logo Text

Media arts as artistic project studies

The Diploma Program in Media Arts is offered as a 9-semester program (undergraduate, Diploma 1) or as a 4-semester program (postgraduate, Diploma 2). The artistic project studies are interdisciplinary and allow each student the free choice and individual combination of artistic focal points. The Diploma in Media Arts (Diplom 1 or Diplom 2) of the Academy of Media Arts Cologne (KHM) is comparable to an MFA (Master of Fine Arts) in an international context.


The doctoral programme at the KHM offers the possibility of a philosophical dissertation. The combination of artistic questions and scientific methods should lead to relevant new results in the doctoral program of the KHM. The degree - in accordance with the legislation for art colleges in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia - is a university-equivalent, i.e. scientific, Dr. phil. in the subject area of art and media studies.


Around 400 students are enrolled at the KHM each year, at least one third of whom come from abroad. 60 to 70 new applicants are accepted each winter semester.


Student work takes place in the KHM’s ateliers, studios and labs, which are furnished with high-quality equipment, reflecting the diversity of the areas of teaching. The connection between artistic praxis and art and media theory discourses, film theory analysis as well aesthetic and philosophical questioning is an integral part of the courses, the teaching and the research.  


The range of student projects is wide and interdisciplinary. Examples include animation, feature and documentary films, photographic art, video art, experimental films, websites, Internet art, games, sound art and electronic music, art in public space, installations, performances, light art, screenplays, hybrid designs, TV and Internet formats, live directing and camera works. Students realise up to four of their own projects. In addition they also develop work within the framework of seminars and tutorials, some of which are collective pieces.


The transdisciplinary approach in teaching and research, the continuous cooperation with domestic and foreign universities, with cultural institutions, festivals, exhibition makers as well as the media and film industry prepare the ground for networks and activities in which students, doctoral candidates and fellows work after graduation: For example, successfully as freelance or collectively creating artists, programmers, film directors, cinematographers, screenwriters, designers, producers or as other independent business founders. A considerable number of them now pass on their expertise as university lecturers.


More about the application and its requirements can be found here!

The following study emphases are only a sample of those available and are listed alphabetically:  


  • Animation / 3D animation
  • Image design / camera
  • Experimental Film
  • Experimental computer science / net art
  • Sound art / Sound
  • Artistic photography
  • Live directing / TV formats
  • Art and media studies / Queer studies
  • Multispecies storytelling
  • Video Art / Performance / Public Art
  • Literary Writing / Screenwriting
  • Directing for feature films and documentaries


The annual Rundgang  in July and the Infotag in December are good opportunities to get to know KHM.

For information on student projects klick here.

Departments

Student office

Karin Cordes

Juliane Schwibbert

Katrin Seiniger

Claudia Warnecke

Heumarkt 14

50667 Köln


Tel.: +49 221 20189 - 194 /

119 / 187 / 249
E-Mail: studoffice@khm.de


Opening hours: Mondays + Tuesdays from 10 a.m. - 1 p.m. and Thursdays from 10 a.m.    -    4 p.m.


For enquiries or appointments, please call us, Mon - Thu 9.30 to 1 p.m., or send us an e-mail.


Summer semester 2024

Lecture period:
​​​​​​​Apr. 8, 2024 until Jul. 19, 2024


Winter semester 2024/25

Lecture period:
​​​​​​​Oct. 21, 2024 until Feb. 14, 2025


Please wait

Mediale Künste

Logo
Logo Text

Mediale Künste als künstlerisches Projektstudium

Das Diplomstudium Mediale Künste wird als 9-semestriges Studium (grundständig, Diplom 1) oder als 4-semestriges Studium (postgradual, Diplom 2) angeboten. Das künstlerische Projektstudium ist interdisziplinär angelegt und lässt jedem Studierenden die freie Wahl und individuelle Kombination von künstlerischen Schwerpunkten. Das Diplom Mediale Künste (Diplom 1 oder Diplom 2) der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln (KHM) ist im internationalen Kontext mit einem MFA (Master of Fine Arts) vergleichbar.


Das Promotionsprogramm der KHM bietet die Möglichkeit zur philosophischen Dissertation. Die Verbindung von künstlerischen Fragestellungen und wissenschaftlichen Methoden soll im Promotionsprogramm der KHM zu relevanten neuen Ergebnissen führen. Abgeschlossen wird – in Übereinstimmung mit der Gesetzgebung für die Kunsthochschulen des Landes NRW – mit einem universitätsgleichen, also wissenschaftlichen Dr. phil. im Fachgebiet Kunst- und Medienwissenschaften.


Rund 400 Studierende sind jährlich an der KHM eingeschrieben, von denen mindestens ein Drittel aus dem Ausland kommt. Rund 70 Bewerber*innen werden pro Wintersemester neu aufgenommen.


Zwischen den Medien oder auch um die Medien herum schafft die KHM ein offenes und experimentierfreudiges Klima für eigenständiges, künstlerisches Arbeiten. Im Zentrum des Diplomstudiums steht die individuelle Entwicklung von künstlerischen Projekten, bei denen die Studierenden durch Professor*innen, künstlerisch-wissenschaftliche und technische Mitarbeiter*innen fächerübergreifend betreut und unterstützt werden.  


Die studentische Arbeit findet in den Ateliers, Studios und Laboren der KHM statt, die über eine hochwertige, an der Vielfalt der Lehrgebiete orientierte Ausstattung verfügen. Die Verbindung der künstlerischen Praxis mit kunst- und medientheoretischen Diskursen, mit filmwissenschaftlichen Analysen sowie ästhetischen, philosophischen und technischen Fragestellungen ist gleichfalls Bestandteil des Studiums, der Lehre und der Forschung.  


Der transdisziplinäre Ansatz in Lehre und Forschung, die kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit mit in- und ausländischen Hochschulen, mit kulturellen Institutionen, Festivals, Ausstellungsmachern sowie der Medien- und Filmwirtschaft bereiten den Boden für Netzwerke und Tätigkeiten, in denen die Studierenden, Promovierenden und Fellows nach dem Diplom arbeiten: Zum Beispiel erfolgreich als freie oder im Kollektiv schaffende Künstler*innen, Programmierer*innen, Filmregisseur*innen, Kamerafrauen und -männer, Drehbuchautor*innen, Gestalter*innen, Produzent*innen oder als andere selbstständige Unternehmensgründer*innen. Eine beachtliche Zahl von gibt mittlerweile ihre Kompetenz als Hochschullehrer*innen weiter.


Mehr zur Bewerbung und deren Vorraussetzungen gibt es hier!

Als mögliche Schwerpunkte im Studium seien alphabetisch und exemplarisch genannt:

  • Animation / 3D-Animation
  • Bildgestaltung / Kamera
  • Experimenteller Film
  • Experimentelle Informatik / Netzkunst
  • Klangkunst / Sound
  • Künstlerische Fotografie
  • Live-Regie / TV-Formate
  • Kunst- und Medienwissenschaften / Queer Studies
  • Multispecies Storytelling
  • Video Art / Performance / Public Art
  • Literarisches Schreiben / Drehbuch
  • Regie für Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm


Gute Möglichkeiten, die KHM kennenzulernen, sind jedes Jahr der Rundgang (im Juli)  und der Infotag (im Dezember).

Einen Überblick über die verschiedenen studentischen Projekte gibt es hier.

Fächergruppen

Studienbüro

Studienbüro
Karin Cordes

Juliane Schwibbert

Katrin Seiniger

Claudia Warnecke

Peter-Welter-Platz 2

50676 Köln


Tel.: +49 221 20189 - 119 / 187 / 249
Fax: +49 221 20189 - 49249
E-Mail: studoffice@khm.de


Öffnungszeiten:

Montag + Dienstag von 10 - 13  Donnerstag von 10 - 13 + 14 - 16


Bitte beachten Sie: Umzugsbedingt ist das Studienbüro vom 15. bis 18.04.

für Besucher*innen vor Ort nicht erreichbar.


Anfragen oder Termine weiterhin auch telefonisch, Mo - Do 9:30 bis 13:00 Uhr,  oder per E-Mail.


Sommersemester 2024

Vorlesungszeit:

08.04. 2024 bis 19.07.2024


Wintersemester 2024/25

Vorlesungszeit:
21.10.2024 bis 14.02.2025

Bitte warten