About us

Logo
Logo Text
REMOTEWORDs / 25. Station an der KHM und ein Buchprojekt

RW.25: Langzeitprojekt und Dachinstallation  von Uta Kopp / Achim Mohné zu 25 Jahre KHM / 2015,

Filzengraben 18-24, 50676 Köln


Buchprojekt: Orbitale Irritationen,  2018, Van Halem Verlag + KHM

Facts and Figures

Founding Year

1989


Official opening
On October 15, 1990 with 25 students on the postgraduate diploma course “Audiovisual Media”; 1994: expansion of the range of courses to include the undergraduate diploma programme “Audiovisual Media”; the first cohort contained 40 students; since 2004: doctoral programme; 2010: the two diploma programmes renamed “Media and Fine Art”; since 2017: new field of study “Literary Writing”.

The academy opened in 1990 as “a factory of talent”, “a new type of art college”, as an “electronic Bauhaus”, a “maverick”, an “experiment without guaranteed success” and as an “unloved child” of Cologne’s cultural landscape. It was initially associated with the closure of the Cologne Academy of Fine and Applied Arts and thus with the loss of training in the “liberal arts” and with the “end of the printed word”.

In the meantime the KHM has successfully secured a prominent position among Germany’s art and film schools, although it has remained true—and is as such unique—to its project-oriented approach (no masterclasses, interdisciplinary supervision by professors, diploma degrees on the undergraduate as well as the postgraduate programmes), which fosters individualistic “crossover talent” between art, media, film and science.

“The classical arts have lost their monopoly. The concept of art itself has grown. Artists no longer create with paint, on paper or canvas, in wood, bronze or stone alone. New artistic tools, video, film, laser, photography, sound and computers for example, have added to the possibilities. Modern technologies and means of communication, the achievements of this century, have also become its means of representation.” The Minister for Science and Research at the time Anke Brunn (SPD) describes the motives of the KHM’s foundation (Lab 1, KHM magazine, 1991).

“The KHM has now been searching out its own way of doing education for 20 years. The decisive combination of diligence and talent, the ability to cooperate and ruthless individuality—it appears to have succeeded. It is—for us too—a bumpy road, flanked by prizes and awards and gratitude.” (Prof. Dr. Horst Königstein in the foreword of the brochure “Best of KHM Movies”, 2010)

Corporation

According to § 1 paragraph 2 of the Kunsthochschulgesetz (Art Colleges Act) the KHM is a corporation under public law and an institution of the federal state of NRW. The responsible authority is the Ministry for Culture and Science  of the Federal State of NRW with whom current agreements on goals and performance are agreed for respective periods of four years. 

“Media and Fine Art” course

- Undergraduate / Diploma I (9 semesters)

- Postgraduate / Diploma II (4 semesters)

- Doctoral Programme (PhD.)

- English-language teaching: partial

- Semester fees / Semester: approx. 300 Euro  


Students / Staff in numbers

- Students (WS 2015/16): 349; (WS 2016/17) 364; (WS 2017/18) 392

- Entrants (WS 2015/16): 77; (WS 2016/17) 77; WS (2017/18) 89

- Applications (WS 2015/16): 499; WS 2016/17) 584; (WS 2017/18) 560

- International Students (WS 2015/16): 110; (WS 2016/17) 128; (WS 2017/18) 139

- Doctoral Candidates: 13

- Professors: 35 with full-time and part-time professorships

- Honorary Professors : 1

Artistic-academic staff: 20 with part-time and full-time positions (without third-party funds)

- Other staff: 77 with part-time and full-time positions  


KHM Rectors

Manfred Eisenbeis (founding commissioner until 1990) Klaus Katz (founding rector 1990-1994) Siegfried Zielinski (1994-2000) Anthony Moore (2000-2004) Andreas Henrich (2004-2007) Marie-Luise Angerer (2007-2009) Klaus Jung (2009-2014) Hans Ulrich Reck (since April 2014)  


KHM Buildings

1989 moved into Rheingasse 8 (today’s library/media library with Studio A) and Peter-Welter-Platz 2; from 1994 the buildings at Filzengraben 18-24 and the atelier in Großen Witschgasse 11 were added; 1997 the rental of Filzengraben 8-10 followed; from 2005 the occupation of the complex of new buildings at Filzengraben 2 followed; from 2008 use of Glasmoog at Filzengraben 2a with the ateliers above and behind it. Today the KHM is spread across seven building complexes around Filzengraben.

Former Teaching Staff

Ehemalige Professor*innen an der KHM (Voll- und Teilzeit)


Former Arstistic and Academic Staff


Anders, Anna; Altenhoff, Andreas; Arcioli, Olivier; Atzori, Paolo; Beaugrand, Stéphanie; Beißler, Conny; Binder, Helga; Bleyenberg, Michael; Boersma, Dieuwke; Bolewski, Christin; Bollmann, Detlef; Bosbach, Lisa; Bührer, Valeska; Bunne, Egon;

Dill, Rüdiger; Damm, Ursula; Donner, Christan;
Ebelt, Christina; Elzel, Wiebke; Ernst, Wolfgang;
Fasshauer, Elmar; Faubel, Christian Dr.; Fischer, Andreas; Friedrich, Kathrin; Fritz-Horstmann, Estelle; Fürlus, Eckhard
Garmsen, Lutz; Geißler, Carsten; Glissmann, Pascal; Goldbach, Philipp; Gramelsberger, Gabriele;
Hahlbrock, David; Hansen, Jonas; Harrasser, Karin Dr.; Heidkamp, Philipp; Hensel, Thomas; Hirsch, Andreas; Ho, Echo; Höfflin, Martina; Horlitz, Frank;
Kaufmann, Andreas M.; Kinateder, Daniela; König,  Dr. Christiane; Kreyenberg, Titus; Kronauer, Iris
Lahr, Christin; Lampe, Gerd; Lauke, Stephanie Sarah;
Mac Williams, Carmen; Mauch, Elmar; Middeke, Beate;Mrongovius, Martina;

Negrón van Grieken, Luis; Neuenhofer, Matthias;
Peters, Katrin;  Pöpel, Cornelius;
Reusse, Stephan; Roch, AxelRöller, Nils; Rumori, Martin
Sann, Oliver; Santoro, Cosima; Scherffig, Lasse; Schillmöller, Jens; Schönberg, Dr. Susanna; Schuster, Peter; Schwering, Herbert; Smedstad, Ivar; Specht, Dirk; Stallschuss, Stefanie; Streiter, Anja;
Teufel, Barbara; Thürnagel, Julia;
Unger, Kerstin;
Vaitsmann, Marcia; Viehoff, Jochen;
Wach, Margarete; Wagnermaier, Silvia; Wichmann, Corinna; Wrede, Oliver

Address / centre

Academy of Media Arts Cologne
Peter-Welter-Platz 2
D-50676 Köln
Fon: +49 221 20189 - 0
Fax: +49 221 20189 - 17

Rector's / Chancellor's office

Susanne Hackländer
Fon: +49-221-20189-111
Email: rektor@khm.de

Ingrid Panne
Fon: +49-221-20189-212
Email: kanzlerin@khm.de

Assistant to the Rectorate
Heidrun Hertell
Fon: +49-221-20189-130

Email: hertell@khm.de


Press / PR office

Academy of Media Arts Cologne
Peter-Welter-Platz 2
D-50676 Köln
Fon: +49 221 20189 - 135 / - 330
Fax: +49 221 20189 - 49135
Email:  presse@khm.de


Guard duty

Fon: +49 221 20189 - 105
Mobil: +49 173 7480228
Mail: wachdienst@khm.de

Website administration

Mail: webmaster@khm.de

Please wait

Über uns

Logo
Logo Text
REMOTEWORDs / 25. Station an der KHM und ein Buchprojekt

RW.25: Langzeitprojekt und Dachinstallation  von Uta Kopp / Achim Mohné zu 25 Jahre KHM / 2015,

Filzengraben 18-24, 50676 Köln


Buchprojekt: Orbitale Irritationen,  2018, Van Halem Verlag + KHM

Zahlen und Fakten

Gründungsjahr

1989

Eröffnung

Am 15. Oktober 1990 mit 25 Studierenden für das weiterqualifizierende Diplomstudium „Audiovisuelle Medien“; 1994 Erweiterung des Studienangebots um das grundständige Diplomstudium „Audiovisuelle Medien“; der erste Jahrgang hatte 40 Studierende; seit 2004 Promotionsprogramm; 2010 Umbenennung der beiden Diplomstudiengänge in „Mediale Künste“ und Ergänzung um den Studienschwerpunkt "Kamera/Bildgestaltung"; seit 2017/18 um den weiteren Studienschwerpunkt "Literarisches Schreiben".


Als „eine Talentschmiede“, „eine Kunsthochschule neuen Typs“, als „elektronisches Bauhaus“, „Paradiesvogel“, „Experiment ohne Erfolgsgarantie“ und auch als „ungeliebtes Kind“ der Kölner Kulturlandschaft startete die Kunsthochschule 1990. Sie wurde zunächst vor allem mit der Schließung der ehemaligen Kölner Werkschulen und damit mit dem Verlust der Ausbildung in „freier Kunst“ und mit dem „Ende des gedruckten Wortes“ verbunden.
Heute gehört die KHM fest und erfolgreich zum Kanon der deutschen Kunst- wie Filmhochschulen, wobei sie ihrem projektorientierten Ansatz (keine Meisterklassen, die Lehrgebiete übergreifende Betreuung durch Professoren, Diplomabschluss im grundständigen wie postgradualen Studium), der individualistische „Cross-over-Talente“ zwischen Kunst, Medien, Film und Wissenschaft hervorbringt, treu und darin einzigartig geblieben ist.


„Die klassischen Künste haben ihr Monopol verloren. Der Kunstbegriff ist erweitert. Künstler gestalten nicht mehr nur mit Farbe, auf Papier oder Leinwand, in Holz, Bronze oder Stein. Neue künstlerische Werkzeuge sind hinzugekommen, zum Beispiel Video, Film, Laser, Fotografie, Ton, Computer. Moderne Technologien und Kommunikationsmittel, die Errungenschaften dieses Jahrhunderts, sind auch seine Darstellungsmittel geworden.“ So beschrieb die damalige Ministerin für Wissenschaft und Forschung Anke Brunn (SPD) den Hintergedanken der Neugründung (Lab 1, Magazin der KHM, 1991).

„Die KHM sucht nun schon seit 20 Jahren einen eigenen Weg der Ausbildung. Die entschiedene Verknüpfung von Fleiß und Talent, Kooperationsfähigkeit und rücksichtsloser Individualität – sie scheint geglückt. Es ist – auch für uns – eine unwegsame, von Preisen und Auszeichnungen und Dankbarkeit flankierte Reise.“ (Prof. Dr. Horst Königstein im Vorwort der Broschüre „Best of KHM Movies“ 2010)


Körperschaft

Nach § 1 Absatz 2 des Kunsthochschulgesetzes  ist die KHM eine Körperschaft des öffentlichen Rechts und Einrichtung des Landes NRW. Zuständig ist das Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes NRW, mit dem ein Hochschulvertrag für jeweils vier Jahre vereinbart wird.

Studium „Mediale Künste“

- grundständig / Diplom 1 (= 9-semestrig)

- postgradual / Diplom 2 (= 4-semestrig)

- Promotionsstudium (Dr. Phil.)

- Englischsprachige Lehre: teilweise
- Semesterbeitrag / Semester: ca. 330 Euro


Studierende / Personal in Zahlen

- Studierende: (WS 2015/16) 349; (WS 2016/17) 364; (WS 2017/18) 392; (WS 2018/19) 403; (WS 2019/20) 389
- Studienanfänger*innen: (WS 2015/16) 77; (WS 2016/17) 72; WS (2017/18) 83;  (WS 2018/19) 63; (WS 2019/20) 54
- Bewerbungen: (WS 2015/16) 499; (WS 2016/17) 584; (WS 2017/18) 560; (WS 2018/19) 531; (WS 2019/20) 497
- Internationale Studierende: (WS 2015/16) 110; (WS 2016/17) 128; (WS 2017/18) 139; (WS 2018/19) 151; (WS 202019/20) 151
- Promovierende: (WS 2015/16) 14; (WS 2016/17) 13; (WS 2017/18) 13; (WS 2018/19) 16; (WS 2019/20) 13
- Professor*innen: 39 mit ganzen, Halb- und Drittelprofessuren

- Honorarprofessor*innen:

- Gastprofessor*innen: 3

- Künstlerisch-wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen: 26 mit halben und ganzen Stellen (ohne Drittmittel)
- Weitere Mitarbeiter*innen: 79 mit unterhälftigen, halben und ganzen Stellen


Rektoren der KHM

Manfred Eisenbeis (Gründungsbeauftragter bis 1990)
Klaus Katz (Gründungsrektor 1990-1994)
Siegfried Zielinski (Gründungsrektor 1994-1999 und Rektor 1999-2000)
Anthony Moore (2000-2004)
Andreas Henrich (2004-2007)
Marie-Luise Angerer (2007-2009)
Klaus Jung (2009-2014)
Hans Ulrich Reck (2014-2020)

Kerstin Stutterheim (2020-2021)


Ehrensenator*innen

Anke Brunn, Prof. Henrik R. Hanstein


Gebäude der KHM

1989 Einzug in die Rheingasse 8 (heute Bibliothek/Mediathek mit Studio A) und am Peter-Welter-Platz 2; ab 1994 kamen die Gebäude am Filzengraben 18-24 und das Atelier in der Großen Witschgasse 11 hinzu; 1997 folgte die Anmietung vom Filzengraben 8-10; ab 2005 folgte der Bezug des Neubau-Komplexes am Filzengraben 2; ab 2008 der Bezug von Glasmoog mit den darüber und dahinter liegenden Ateliers am Filzengraben 2a. Heute verteilt sich die KHM auf sieben Gebäudekomplexe rund um den Filzengraben.

Ehemalige Lehrende

Ehemalige Professor*innen an der KHM 
​​​​​​​
(Voll- und Teilzeit)


Postanschrift / Zentrale

Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln

Peter-Welter-Platz 2, 50676 Köln
Tel +49 221 20189 - 0
Fax +49 221 20189 - 17


Stellv. Rektor / Kanzlerinbüro

Susanne Hackländer
Tel.: +49-221-20189-111

s.hacklaender@khm.de


Ingrid Panne
Tel.: +49-221-20189-212
panne@khm.de

Referentin des Rektorats
Heidrun Hertell
Tel.: +49-221-20189-130hertell@khm.de


Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Tel +49 221 20189 - 135 / -330
Fax +49 221 20189 - 49135presse@khm.de


Studienbüro / -beratung

Peter-Welter-Platz 2, 50676 Köln
Tel.: +49 221 20189 - 119, - 187 erreichbar Mo-Do: 9.30 - 13 h

Fax: +49 221 20189 - 49119
Mail: studoffice@khm.de



Wachdienst KHM
Tel.: +49 221 20189 - 105
Mobil: +49 173 7480228
Mail: wachdienst@khm.de


Sicherheits- / Brandschutzbeauftragter

Jörg Huber

Eschbach 2, 42719 Solingen
Tel.: 0212-317348
Mobil: 0172-2123959
huberjoerg@t-online.de


Administration der Website

Mail: webmaster@khm.de

Bitte warten