Teaching Staff

Logo
Logo Text

Prof. donna Kukama

Prof. of Contemporary Art / Global South
+49 221 20289 – 157
donna.kukama@khm.de

donna Kukama is an interdisciplinary artist whose practice engages performance art as a tool for creative research. Her work presents institutions, monuments, gestures of protest, rumors, and fleeting moments that are as real as they are fictitious. Shifting between performance, video, text, sound, and multimedia installations, her practice takes on a form that is experimental, applying methods that are deliberately undisciplined. She uses performance as a strategy that allows her to invent as well as to apply methods that are outside the canon of what is predictable or expected. She questions how histories are narrated and subverts how value systems are constructed, often centering methods perspectives that originate from the Global South. Through her practice, she weaves major with minor aspects of histories, introducing fragile and brief moments of ‘strangeness’ within sociopolitical settings. Her performances are to be understood as gestures of poetry with a political intent and an urgent need to destabilize existing canons regarding the ways we look at reality. For Kukama, performance becomes a strategy for inserting foreign ‘undocumented’ voices and presences into history by occupying sites and territories that remember less-told stories.


Kukama has exhibited and presented performances at several notable institutions and museums, including the Tate Modern in London; Nottingham Contemporary in Nottingham; Padiglione de’Arte Contemporanea Milano in Milan; South African National Gallery in Cape Town; Museum of Modern Art in Antwerp; nGbK in Berlin; and the New Museum in New York. She has participated in, among others, the 10th Berlin Biennale; the 57th Belgrade Biennale; 12th Lyon Biennale; the 6th Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art; 32nd Bienal de São Paulo; 3rd New Museum Triennale; 1st Stellenbosch Triennale; 8th Berlin Biennale and the 55th Venice Biennale (as part of the South African Pavilion). She was the 2014 recipient of the Standard Bank Young Artist Award for Performance Art in South Africa, and nominated for the 2010 MTN New Contemporaries Award in South Africa.

For the past ten years (2011-2021), she has held the post of lecturer in the Visual Arts Department at the University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. She was recently a guest Professor at the Braunschweig University of Art (HBK Braunschweig) in Germany (2019-2020), and is a visiting artist for the Work.Master programme at the Academy of Art and Design, Geneva (HEAD Genève) in Switzerland (2021-2023). Kukama obtained a Masters in Art in the Public Sphere (MAPS) from Ecole Cantonale d’Arts du Valais in Switzerland, and she will complete her PhD in creative research at the University of Plymouth, UK. ​​​​​​​

Lectures - Seminars

Please wait

Lehrende

Logo
Logo Text

Prof. donna Kukama

Professorin für Zeitgenössische Kunst / Globaler Süden
+49 221 20289 – 157
donna.kukama@khm.de

donna Kukama ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin, die Performance-Kunst als Werkzeug für kreative Forschung einsetzt. Ihre Arbeit präsentiert Institutionen, Denkmäler, Gesten des Protests, Gerüchte und flüchtige Momente, die ebenso real wie fiktiv sind. Ihre zwischen Performance, Video, Text, Sound und Multimedia-Installationen wechselnde Praxis nimmt eine experimentelle Form an und wendet Methoden an, die bewusst undiszipliniert sind. Sie nutzt die Performance als eine Strategie, die es ihr erlaubt, Methoden zu erfinden und anzuwenden, die außerhalb des Kanons des Vorhersehbaren oder Erwarteten liegen. Sie hinterfragt die Art und Weise, wie Geschichte erzählt wird, und untergräbt die Konstruktion von Wertesystemen, wobei sie sich oft auf methodische Perspektiven konzentriert, die aus dem globalen Süden stammen. In ihrer Praxis verwebt sie große mit kleinen Aspekten der Geschichte, indem sie fragile und kurze Momente der "Fremdheit" in soziopolitische Zusammenhänge einführt. Ihre Performances sind als Gesten der Poesie mit einer politischen Absicht und dem dringenden Bedürfnis zu verstehen, die bestehenden Kanons hinsichtlich der Art und Weise, wie wir die Realität betrachten, zu destabilisieren.

Für Kukama wird die Performance zu einer Strategie, um fremde, "undokumentierte" Stimmen und Präsenzen in die Geschichte einzufügen, indem sie Orte und Territorien besetzt, die an weniger erzählte Geschichten erinnern.


Kukama hat in mehreren namhaften Institutionen und Museen ausgestellt und Performances präsentiert, darunter die Tate Modern in London, Nottingham Contemporary in Nottingham, Padiglione de'Arte Contemporanea Milano in Mailand, South African National Gallery in Kapstadt, Museum of Modern Art in Antwerpen, nGbK in Berlin und das New Museum in New York. Sie hat unter anderem an der 10. Berlin Biennale, der 57. Belgrad Biennale, der 12. Lyon Biennale, der 6. Moskauer Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, der 32. Bienal de São Paulo, der 3. New Museum Triennale, der 1. Stellenbosch Triennale, der 8. Berlin Biennale und der 55. Venedig Biennale (als Teil des südafrikanischen Pavillons). 2014 erhielt sie den Standard Bank Young Artist Award for Performance Art in Südafrika und wurde für den MTN New Contemporaries Award 2010 in Südafrika nominiert.

In den vergangenen zehn Jahren (2011-2021) war sie Dozentin am Fachbereich Bildende Kunst der University of Witwatersrand in Johannesburg. Sie war kürzlich Gastprofessorin an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig (HBK Braunschweig) in Deutschland (2019-2020) und ist Gastkünstlerin für das Work. Masterprogramm an der Hochschule für Kunst und Design in Genf (HEAD Genève) in der Schweiz (2021-2023). Kukama erwarb einen Master in Kunst im öffentlichen Raum (MAPS) an der Ecole Cantonale d'Arts du Valais in der Schweiz und wird ihren PhD in kreativer Forschung an der University of Plymouth, UK, abschließen.

Bitte warten