Thomas Hawranke

Artistic / academic staff art
+49 221 20189 - 185
thomas.hawranke@khm.de

Thomas Hawranke is a media artist and researches the effects of technology on society in his installations and experimental set ups. He studied media art at the Academy of Media Arts Cologne and has been pursuing a PhD on artistic research into computer games at Bauhaus-Universität Weimar since 2013. He has been a member of the artist group susigames since 2006, participating in national and international exhibitions, for example at the You@ZKM, File Festival Sao Paulo, File Game Festival Rio de Janeiro and WIRED - NextFest in Los Angeles.

With susigames he was visiting artist at Zentrum für Kunst- und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe (ZKM) for several years, with a scholarship for artistic research into computer games. He co-founded Paidia Institute e. V. in 2009, with the thematic focus computer game as art form.

He regularly takes part in international lectures, workshops and exhibitions with Paidia Institute, the group’s artistic work has been shown at transmediale 12 in Berlin and in the exhibitions ZKM_Gameplay in Karlsruhe and Schwindel der Wirklichkeit at the Akademie der Künste in Berlin, among others.

Thomas Hawranke co-curates and produces exhibitions at Dortmunder U (Computerspielen – perspectives of play, with Jonas Hansen) and in the Temporary Gallery (PAUSE – Computer games and cultural contingencies, with Karin Lingnau).

He publishes artistic/academic texts in various formats (e.g. Deep Hanging out mit dem vermeintlich Wilden, in: Tiere und Unterhaltung, Tierstudien, Neofelis Verlag, Berlin, with Pablo Abend) and gives lectures at various universities on theme of artistic research in computer games and strategies of appropriation as artistic praxis.

Please wait

Thomas Hawranke

Künstlerisch-wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter für Kunst
+49 221 20189 - 185
thomas.hawranke@khm.de

Thomas Hawranke ist Medienkünstler und erforscht in seinen Installationen und Versuchsanordnungen die Wirkungsweise von Technologie auf Gesellschaft. Er studierte Medienkunst an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln und promoviert seit 2013 an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar zur künstlerischen Forschung in Computerspielen. Er ist seit 2006 Mitglied der Künstlergruppe susigames, mit nationaler und internationaler Ausstellungsbeteiligung, wie beispielsweise an der You@ZKM, File Festival Sao Paulo, File Game Festival Rio de Janeiro und WIRED - NextFest in Los Angeles.

Mit susigames war er mehrere Jahre Gastkünstler am Zentrum für Kunst- und Medientechnologie Karlsruhe (ZKM), mit einem Stipendium zur künstlerischen Forschung in Computerspielen. 2009 war er Mitbegründer von Paidia Institute e. V. mit dem Themenschwerpunkt Computerspiel als Kunstform.

Mit Paidia Institute ist er regelmäßig an internationalen Vorträgen, Workshops und Ausstellungen beteiligt, die künstlerische Arbeit der Gruppe wurde unter anderem auf der transmediale 12 in Berlin und in den Ausstellungen ZKM_Gameplay in Karlsruhe und Schwindel der Wirklichkeit an der Akademie der Künste in Berlin gezeigt.

Thomas Hawranke ko-kuratierte und produzierte Ausstellungen im Dortmunder U (Computerspielen – perspectives of play, gemeinsam mit Jonas Hansen) und in der Temporary Gallery (PAUSE – Computer games and cultural contingencies, gemeinsam mit Karin Lingnau).

Er publiziert künstlerisch-wissenschaftliche Texte in unterschiedlichen Formaten (z.B. Deep Hanging out mit dem vermeintlich Wilden, in: Tiere und Unterhaltung, Tierstudien, Neofelis Verlag, Berlin, gemeinsam mit Pablo Abend) und hielt Vorträge an verschiedenen Hochschulen zum Thema Künstlerische Forschung in Computerspielen und Strategien der Aneignung als künstlerische Praxis.

Bitte warten