ZOOM Films

Eigelstein

03:40
Eigelstein von Daniel Burkhardt
Daniel Burkhardt
2006, 3:40 min., silent, color


2006, 3:40 min., silent, color

Direction: Daniel Burkhardt
Advisors: Prof. Matthias Müller, Prof. Peter Zimmermann, Prof. Siegfried Zielinski
Production:Academy of Media Arts Cologne



In Eigelstein the image of an urban street scene fractures into thin vertical fragments. The outer form of the objects disintegrates and the chance of recognizing them is limited. This shifts the focus of perception: the rhythm and color of the images come to the fore, yet the fragmentation does not remain static, it is subject to change. The movements of vehicles and passersby modulate the temporal structure of the pictorial space: while they are themselves merged into a single uniform visual impression, other objects dissolve again into fragments.


For Daniel Burkhardt visual perception is a discontinuous process, in which seeing and not-seeing are mutually dependent. The human brain makes use of a certain abstraction: forms are selected, the already known categorized and matched together with new groupings. In this way inevitably blind spots appear. Tracing this myopia is an important principle for him. As a starting point for gathering material for his videos Daniel Burkhardt uses primarily documentary footage from his private archive, which he sees as a system for structuring and remembering. Most of his source images are created in passing: on walks, excursions, and travels. In Eigelstein the source image is a street scene with automobile and train traffic in the midst of the inner city of Cologne. For the artist, images that are as unspectacular as possible but not unknown are actually of the most relevance. Thus the changes that later occur in the images in the editing process are easier for the viewer to perceive. It is paramount for him that a visual interest forms through the selection of motif, point in time, duration of the footage, framing, and camera movement in the moment of recording. Here emerges an initial fascination for him, a moment of clarity and contact with the surroundings of an image that acts as a guide in postproduction.


After selecting a source motif, its documentary character is expanded into the fantastic, fictional, and subjective in its formal treatment. The main parameters of the intervention are the spatial and temporal continuum of the image. It is digitally fragmented, duplicated, interlaced, repeated, and shifted. The resulting formal structures develop out of a repeated feedback process between formal intervention, close inspection, and repeated intervention. This feedback loop is similar to a dance, in the midst of which stand the potential of the image and the perception of the artist. These successive formal interventions soon unearth structures of movement as well as form and color correlations that were previously invisible. In the final video the source material is visible and simultaneously recedes into the background of the editing. Only a strict balance of both sides allows something new to unfold. For Daniel Burkhardt creating moving images that allow our own perceptions to manifest is a fundamental concern. The impulse in this direction must of course be triggered on its own in the viewer of the video images. The attention of the viewer and the site of viewing play an important role in this process.


Text — Daniel Burkhardt / Daniel Sondermann



Daniel Burkhardt was born in 1977 in Bochum. He lives and works as a freelance artist in Cologne.
www.danielburkhardt.de

Undergraduate studies at the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, from 2002 to 2007. Degree projects include his video work CTG KEEPS COOL, Eigelstein, and the series Rauschen & Brausen I–IV in the media art department.




← Show all the films

P_2407_eigelstein_01_lightbox.jpg
P_2407_eigelstein_02_lightbox.jpg

About ZOOM


ZOOM is a virtual site for artistic audiovisual projects and productions from the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne. Artistically diverse positions are regularly selected and made accessible to the wider public on the Internet.


The programmatic focus is on short audiovisual forms with original artistic perspectives and great sensitivity for the subject matter. Included are abstract visual experiments, documentary formats, found-footage films, and performance videos, as well as non-narrative music videos and 3-D or stop-motion animation.

We use cookies in order to improve your surfing experience.
If you stay on the website, you accept the privacy policy Datenschutzbestimmungen and allow us to use cookies.
Please wait

ZOOM – Plattform für kurze künstlerische Filme

Eigelstein

03:40
Eigelstein von Daniel Burkhardt
Daniel Burkhardt
2006, 3:40 Min., stumm, Farbe


2006, 3:40 Min., stumm, Farbe

Regie: Daniel Burkhardt
Betreuung: Prof. Matthias Müller, Prof. Peter Zimmermann, Prof. Siegfried Zielinski
Produktion: Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln



In "Eigelstein" zerfällt das Bild einer urbanen Straßensituation in schmale, vertikale Fragmente. Die äußere Form der Gegenstände ist atomisiert, ihre Wiedererkennbarkeit eingeschränkt. Dadurch verschiebt sich der Fokus der Wahrnehmung: Rhythmus und Farbigkeit der Bilder treten in den Vordergrund. Doch die Fragmentierung bleibt nicht statisch, sie unterliegt Veränderungen. Die Bewegungen von Fahrzeugen und Passanten modulieren die zeitliche Struktur des Bildraumes: während sie selbst zu einem einheitlichen Bildeindruck zusammengefügt werden, lösen sich die anderen Objekte wieder in Fragmente auf.


Für Daniel Burkhardt ist visuelle Wahrnehmung ein diskontinuierlicher Prozess, in dem Sehen und Nicht-Sehen einander bedingen. Dabei bedient sich das menschliche Gehirn einer bestimmten Abstraktion: Formen werden selektiert, bereits bekannten zugeordnet und zu neuen Gruppen zusammengefügt. Auf diese Weise entstehen zwangsläufig blinde Stellen. Dieser Blindheit nachzugehen, ist für ihn ein wichtiges Prinzip. Als Ausgangsmaterial für seine Videobilder verwendet Daniel Burkhardt überwiegend dokumentarische Aufnahmen aus seinem privaten Archiv, das er selbst als Schichtungs- und Erinnerungssystem versteht. Die meisten seiner Ausgangsbilder entstehen im Vorbeigehen: auf Spaziergängen, Ausflügen und Reisen. Auf den ersten Blick könnte die Auswahl der Motive beliebig wirken. In "Eigensten" ist es eine  Straßenszenerie mit Auto- und Zugverkehr mitten in der Kölner Innenstadt. Für den Künstler sind aber gerade möglichst unspektakuläre und dennoch nicht unbekannte Bilder von Relevanz. Dadurch werden die später im künstlerischen Bearbeitungsprozess entstehenden Veränderungen in den Bildern für den Betrachter besser beobachtbar. Entscheidend ist für ihn aber, dass sich im Moment der Aufnahme durch die Wahl von Motiv, Zeitpunkt, Aufnahmedauer, Kadrierung und Kamerabewegung ein visuelles Interesse formuliert. Hier entsteht für ihn eine erste Faszination, ein Moment der Nicht-Blindheit und ein Kontakt zum Umraum des Bildes, dem er in der Nachbearbeitung folgt. 


Nachdem er sich für das Ausgangsmotiv entschieden hat, wird dessen dokumentarischer Charakter in der formalen Bearbeitung ins Phantastische, Fiktive und Subjektive geweitet. Die Hauptparameter des Eingriffs sind das räumliche und zeitliche Kontinuum des Bildes. Es wird digital fragmentiert, dupliziert, verschachtelt, wiederholt und verschoben. Die entstehenden formalen Strukturen entwickeln sich aus einem wiederholten Rückkopplungsprozess zwischen formalem Eingriff, genauem Betrachten und erneutem Eingriff. Diese Rückkopplungsschleife gleicht einem Tanz, in dessen Mitte die Potenzialität des Bildes und die eigene Wahrnehmung des Künstlers stehen. Die sukzessive formale Durchdringung fördert schließlich Bewegungsstrukturen sowie Form- und Farbzusammenhänge zutage, die vorher unsichtbar waren. Am Ende ist das Ausgangsmaterial in dem finalen Videobild sichtbar und tritt zugleich hinter der Bearbeitung zurück. Nur eine genaue Balance der beiden Seiten entfaltet etwas Neues. Für Daniel Burkhardt ist es ein wesentliches Anliegen bewegte Bilder zu schaffen, die unsere Wahrnehmung selbst erfahrbar werden lassen. Der Impuls in diese Richtung muss sich im Betrachter der Videobilder natürlich selbst auslösen. Die Aufmerksamkeit des Betrachters und der Ort des Betrachtens spielen hierfür eine wichtige Rolle.


Text — Daniel Burkhardt / Daniel Sondermann



Daniel Burkhardt wurde 1977 in Bochum geboren. Er lebt und arbeitet als freischaffender Künstler in Köln.
www.danielburkhardt.de

Grundständiges Studium an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln von 2002 bis 2007. Diplom mit den Videoarbeiten CTG KEEPS COOL, Eigelstein und der Werkreihe Rauschen & Brausen I-IV in der Fächergruppe Medienkunst.




← Alle Filme sehen

P_2407_eigelstein_01_lightbox.jpg
P_2407_eigelstein_02_lightbox.jpg

Über ZOOM


ZOOM ist ein virtueller Ort für audiovisuelle, künstlerische Projekte und Produktionen der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. In regelmäßigen Abständen werden künstlerisch vielschichtige Positionen ausgewählt, um sie im Web einer größeren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.


Der programmatische Fokus liegt dabei auf kurzen, audiovisuellen Formen mit eigenständiger künstlerischer Handschrift und einer hohen Sensibilität für ihr Sujet. Abstrakte visuelle Experimente stehen neben dokumentarischen Formaten, Found Footage-Filme neben Performancevideos, nicht-narrative Musikvideos neben 3D- oder Stop Motion-Animationen.

Zur Verbesserung der Benutzerfreundlichkeit verwenden wir Cookies.
Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu und erlauben uns die Verwendung von Cookies.
Bitte warten