ZOOM Films

[∫]

11:52
/ ʃ / from Sunjha Kim
Sunjha Kim
2011, 11:52 min., b/w


2011, 11:52 min., b/w
Direction and editing: Sunjha Kim
Camera: Rikisaburo Sato
Sound design: Sunjha Kim, Judith Nordbrock
Advisors: Prof. Ute Hörner, Prof. Raimund Krumme, Prof. Dr. Peter Bexte
Production: Academy of Media Arts Cologne




When I pronounce the sibilant ∫ to me it sounds as light as a breath of air. For me it is surprising that it is possible to convey meaning in language with this whooshing noise. Not only the sound but also the form of the phonetic symbol ∫ is interesting to me, because I associate the movement of a snake with this graphic shape. A film on the free interpretation and the reconstruction of the phonetic symbol ∫.


Interview with Sunjha Kim


The film is a free interpretation of a phonetic symbol. How did you get the idea to make a project on ∫? Is this symbol known in Korean?
In South Korea I got to know the symbol ∫ in English literature as well as in mathematics as the integral symbol. Apart from that the sinuous line seen in the symbol ∫ in my country is known as the line of beauty and is often compared with the female body shape (the S-line). The idea for this project came to me in 2010 in Germany. During my studies at the KHM I had to write many texts in German, I often used the German words Sprechen, Schreiben, Schweigen, Schwarz, Sterne, Stein, etc. At some point I noticed that almost all of my favorite words began with a sibilant, and the encounter with ∫ was a total coincidence, though I always was interested in seeing it and hearing it.

A meditative and searching camera, montage editing, and the use of many very graphic lines are elements of your work. How do these shape the film?


When one quietly contemplates the symbol ∫ it seems as if the snaking line gently moves back and forth. The top part of the line rises slowly upward, while the lower part slips lightly downward. The camera movement follows the vertical reciprocal movement of the symbol and also moving motifs like a living snake, breathing bodies, swiveling stones, and falling water. The vertical camera movement and selection of motifs represents my interpretation of the symbol ∫, perhaps also a feeling of mine, a floating sinking feeling in the weightlessness of space. I would like to thank my cameraman Rikisaburo Sato for the wonderful shots. When I began with the film shoot in Iceland I only had abstract images in my head. Rikisaburo filmed many improvised scenes on site, sometimes recording strangely beautiful images. the film wouldn’t be the same without him.


The original sound and the sound design create a dense atmosphere in the film. Did this interplay between image and sound reveal itself to you while editing or already during filming?
I already had some sounds and images in my head before filming. As I imagined the first scenes with moving bodies, I heard a quiet, delicate breathing sound. The final scene with mouth and stone I wanted to leave in absolute darkness and silence. I had a feeling that a black image would fit well with this silent moment. Many sounds and images only emerged during filming and in postproduction. In Iceland and in Germany I collected many hissing, swishing noises, for example, rushing water, sounds of wind, breathing and sibilants being spoken. From this sound material I searched out fitting sounds for the edit and in part recorded new ones.


Text — Daniel Sondermann




Sunjha Kim was born in 1983 in Anyang, South Korea. She lives and works in Cologne. After obtaining her Bachelor of Fine Arts at Seoul National University, she completed undergraduate studies at the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, from 2007 to 2011. She received her degree in art with the experimental film [∫]. More information about Sunjha Kim: imai.


Current film
Y YAAB LA A BOÊ? („Who Is Your Grandfather?“)
D 2016| 23 min.| Direction: Sunjha Kim, Co-direction and camera: Rikisaburo Sato


← Show all the films

Screen Shot 2018-02-20 at 12.47.35.png
sch_reiben_Sunjha.jpg

About ZOOM


ZOOM is a virtual site for artistic audiovisual projects and productions from the Academy of Media Arts, Cologne. Artistically diverse positions are regularly selected and made accessible to the wider public on the Internet.


The programmatic focus is on short audiovisual forms with original artistic perspectives and great sensitivity for the subject matter. Included are abstract visual experiments, documentary formats, found-footage films, and performance videos, as well as non-narrative music videos and 3-D or stop-motion animation.

We use cookies in order to improve your surfing experience.
If you stay on the website, you accept the privacy policy Datenschutzbestimmungen and allow us to use cookies.
Please wait

ZOOM – Plattform für kurze künstlerische Filme

[∫]

11:52
/ ʃ / von Sunjha Kim
Sunjha Kim
2011, 11:52 Min., s/w


2011, 11:52 Min., schwarz-weiß
Regie, Schnitt: Sunjha Kim
Kamera: Rikisaburo Sato
Sounddesign: Sunjha Kim, Judith Nordbrock
Betreuung: Prof. Ute Hörner, Prof. Raimund Krumme, Prof. Dr. Peter Bexte
Produktion: Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln




Wenn ich den Zischlaut [∫] ausspreche, klingt er mir so leicht wie ein Atemzug. Für mich ist es eine Überraschung, dass dieses zischende Geräusch in der Sprache einen Sinn übertragen kann. Nicht nur der Klang, sondern auch die Form des Lautzeichens [∫] erscheint mir interessant, weil ich mit dieser graphischen Gestalt eine Schlangenbewegung assoziieren kann. Ein Film über die freie Interpretation und die Rekonstruktion des Lautzeichens [∫]. 


Interview mit Sunjha Kim


Der Film ist eine freie Interpretation eines Lautzeichens. Wie bist Du auf die Idee gekommen, ein Projekt über [∫] zu machen? Ist das Zeichen im Koreanischen bekannt?
In Südkorea habe ich das Zeichen [∫] sowohl in der englischen Literatur, als auch in der Mathematik als Integralzeichen kennengelernt. Außerdem ist die Schlangenlinie [∫] in meiner Heimat als die Linie der Schönheit bekannt und wird oft mit weiblichen Körperlinien (der S-Linie) verglichen. Die Idee für das Projekt entstand 2010 in Deutschland. Während meines Studiums an der KHM musste ich viele Texte auf Deutsch schreiben, dabei benutzte ich oft die deutschen Wörter: Sprechen, Schreiben, Schweigen, Schwarz, Sterne, Stein u. a. Irgendwann bemerkte ich, dass meine Lieblingswörter fast alle mit einem Zischlaut anfangen und die Begegnung mit [∫] war reiner Zufall, jedoch wollte ich das Lautzeichen immer weiter sehen und hören.

Elemente Deiner Arbeit sind eine meditative suchende Kamera, eine assoziative Montage und der Einsatz sehr vieler graphischer Linien. Wie prägt das den Film?


Wenn man das Zeichen [∫] in Ruhe betrachtet, erscheint es, als ob sich die Schlangenlinie sanft hin und her bewegt. Der obere Teil der Schlangenlinie steigt langsam hoch, während der untere Teil leicht nach unten gleitet. Die Kamerabewegung folgt der senkrechten, gegenseitigen Bewegung des Zeichens und damit bewegende Motive wie eine lebendige Schlange, atmende Körper, schwingende Steine und fallendes Wasser. Die senkrechte Kamerabewegung und Auswahl der Motive stellt meine Interpretation des Zeichens [∫] dar, vielleicht auch ein Gefühl von mir, ein schwebendes und sinkendes Gefühl in der Gewichtslosigkeit des Raums.
Danken möchte ich dem Kameramann Rikisaburo Sato für die tollen Aufnahmen. Als ich mit dem Dreh in Island angefangen habe, hatte ich nur abstrakte Bilder im Kopf. Rikisaburo hat viele Szenen vor Ort improvisiert gedreht, manchmal eigenartig schöne Bilder aufgenommen. Ohne ihn wäre der Film ganz anders.


Der Originalsound und das Sounddesign schaffen eine dichte Atmosphäre im Film. Erschließt sich Dir das Zusammenspiel von Bild und Ton während der Montage oder bereits während des Drehs?
Vor dem Dreh hatte ich schon einige Soundbilder im Kopf. Als ich mir die erste Szene mit bewegenden Körpern vorstellte, klang in mir ein leises, zartes Atemgeräusch. Die letzte Szene mit Mund und Stein wollte ich in absoluter Dunkelheit und Ruhe lassen. Vom Gefühl dachte ich, ein schwarzes Bild passt gut zum schweigenden Moment. Viele Töne und Bilder sind erst beim Dreh und bei der Postproduktion entstanden. In Island und Deutschland habe ich viele zischende Geräusche gesammelt z. B. Wasserrauschen, Windgeräusche, Atemzüge und Zischlaute. Aus diesem Soundmaterial habe ich passende Töne für die Bildmontage ausgesucht und teilweise noch einmal neu aufgenommen.    


Text — Daniel Sondermann




Sunjha Kim wurde 1983 in Anyang, Südkorea geboren. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Köln. Nach ihrem Bachelor of Fine Arts in Seoul National University absolvierte sie ein grundständiges Studium an der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln von 2007 bis 2011. Diplom im Bereich Kunst mit dem Experimentalfilm [∫]. Mehr über Sunjha Kim und ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten erfahren Sie auf den Seiten des inter media art institute imai.


Aktueller Film
Y YAAB LA A BOÊ? („Who Is Your Grandfather?“)
D 2016| 23 Min.| Regie: Sunjha Kim, Co-Regie / Kamera: Rikisaburo Sato


← Alle Filme sehen

Screen Shot 2018-02-20 at 12.47.35.png
sch_reiben_Sunjha.jpg

Über ZOOM


ZOOM ist ein virtueller Ort für audiovisuelle, künstlerische Projekte und Produktionen der Kunsthochschule für Medien Köln. In regelmäßigen Abständen werden künstlerisch vielschichtige Positionen ausgewählt, um sie im Web einer größeren Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen.


Der programmatische Fokus liegt dabei auf kurzen, audiovisuellen Formen mit eigenständiger künstlerischer Handschrift und einer hohen Sensibilität für ihr Sujet. Abstrakte visuelle Experimente stehen neben dokumentarischen Formaten, Found Footage-Filme neben Performancevideos, nicht-narrative Musikvideos neben 3D- oder Stop Motion-Animationen.

Zur Verbesserung der Benutzerfreundlichkeit verwenden wir Cookies.
Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseite stimmen Sie unseren Datenschutzbestimmungen zu und erlauben uns die Verwendung von Cookies.
Bitte warten